ijzu2f - ryssps - 2s7n0c - fhgh9g - v5uoh6 - apgl4n - 8vaej8 - 9nnii1


Professor William A. Schabas (Canada/Ireland) – COURSE DIRECTOR

Honorary Chairman, Irish Center for Human Rights, National University of Ireland, Galway; Professor of International Law, Middlesex University, School of Law, UK; Professor of International Criminal Law and Human Rights, Leiden University, The Netherlands

Professor William A. Schabas is professor of international law at Middlesex University in London. He is also professor of international human law and human rights at Leiden University, emeritus professor of human rights law at the National University of Ireland Galway and honorary chairman of the Irish Centre for Human Rights, invited visiting scholar at the Paris School of International Affairs (Sciences Politiques), honorary professor at the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences in Beijing, visiting fellow of Kellogg College of the University of Oxford, and professeur associé at the Université du Québec à Montréal. Prof. Schabas is a ‘door tenant’ at the chambers of 9 Bedford Row, in London.

Professor Schabas is editor-in-chief of Criminal Law Forum, the quarterly journal of the International Society for the Reform of Criminal Law. He is President of the Irish Branch of the International Law Association and chair of the International Institute for Criminal Investigation. From 2002 to 2004 he served as one of three international members of the Sierra Leone Truth and Reconciliation Commission.

Professor Schabas was named an Officer of the Order of Canada in 2006. He was elected a member of the Royal Irish Academy in 2007. He has been awarded the Vespasian V. Pella Medal for International Criminal Justice of the AIDP, and the Gold Medal in the Social Sciences of the Royal Irish Academy. 

Professor Shane Darcy (Ireland) – online

Deputy Director, Irish Centre for Human Rights, School of Law, National University of Ireland Galway, Ireland

Professor Margaret deGuzman (USA)

Judge, International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals (IRMCT); James E. Beasley Professor of Law and Co-Director, Institute for International Law and Public Policy, Beasley School of Law, Temple University, USA

Mr. Ahmed Seif El-Dawla (Egypt) – online *

Section Chief, Executive Directorate, United Nations Security Council Counter-Terrorism Committee (CTED)

Professor Neha Jain (India)

Professor of Public International Law and Co-Director of the Academy of European Law, European University Institute, Italy


Professor Charles C. Jalloh (Sierra Leone)

Professor of Law, Florida International University College of Law, USA; Member, United Nations International Law Commission 

Professor Fannie Lafontaine (Canada)

Professor of Criminal Law, Laval University, Faculty of Law, Québec, Canada


Professor Yvonne McDermott Rees (Ireland/UK)

Professor of International Criminal Law and International Human Rights Law, Hillary Rodham Clinton School of Law, Swansea University, UK

Professor Tomoya Obokata (Japan) – online

Professor of International Law and Human Rights, Keele University, UK

Professor Joe Powderly (Ireland) – online

Associate Professor of Public International Law, Grotius Centre for International Legal Studies, Leiden University, The Netherlands


Professor Leila Sadat (USA)online


Special Adviser on Crimes Against Humanity to the ICC Prosecutor; James Carr Professor of International Criminal Law, School of Law, Washington University in St Louis, USA


Judge Christine Van den Wyngaert (Belgium)

Judge, Kosovo Specialist Chambers, The Netherlands


Prof. Dr. Jan Wouters (Belgium)

Full Professor of International Law and International Organizations and founding Director of the Leuven Centre for Global Governance Studies, KU Leuven, Belgium


* The views expressed in the ICL course are those of the presenter and do not necessarily reflect the views of the United Nations, the Counter-Terrorism Committee and/or the Committee’s Executive Directorate.



General Information

List of Topics

Course Director

Eligibility & Cancellation Policy

Registration Costs & Scholarships

Application Form